One Site To Rule Them All…

I’m all for making the most of technology, using technological capabilities to improve our lives, but this is just frigging ridiculous.

Nevada Allows Voter Registration Via Facebook

I’ll get my Ten Companies Will Control The World article up soon, but for now…

One site to rule the world, one site to find them, one site to rule the world, and in the darkness, bind them. If you’re not clear on the applicability of this slightly altered line from ‘The Lord of the Rings’, I strongly suggest you read or re-read the books, and/or watch the films.

Surely I’m not the only one who sees that Facebook is way, way too much a part of peoples’ lives these days?

5 thoughts on “One Site To Rule Them All…

  1. Jas Baku says:

    You’re right, I fear that FB may be an insidious evil, compiling dossiers and personality profiles for the highest bidder. We are not the consumers here – we’re the merchandise. Google has to be on you list of ‘Ten Companies’ too.
    Thanks for the follow BTW 🙂 your blog looks good.

    • ‘We’re the merchandise.’ That’s the perfect description of what we are to Facebook et al.

      Oh, yeah, Google is on my list of The Big Ten.

      You’re most welcome from the follow, and thanks for stopping by and actually reading what I wrote!

      Cheers!

  2. FaceBook, I believe, was, in it’s basic original idea, good. There’s nothing wrong with connecting with your friends and family, finding new friends, and expressing your personal interests online.

    However, what FaceBook has become now…is just terrible. I know of people that are ADDICTED to scrolling through their news feeds of their 1000’s of ‘friends’. There is so much drama and (for lack of a better word) crap on FaceBook. Not to mention the sinister ways certain people can use the site.

    The sole reason I use FaceBook, is because I can connect with so many people in a quicker and easier manner than I could if FaceBook didn’t exist.

    I like to inform people that their lives aren’t what they seem, and that there is a big ol’ scheme playing in the background….and we’re all pawns in it.

    So that’s why I use and will continue to use FaceBook. I do hate it though.

    Peace!

    • I agree; the basic, original idea of ‘Facebook’ is a good one. But as to what it has become….scary. That’s the only way I can think to describe it.

      One thing that amazes me about FB users is that the same people who complain about lack of privacy and security concerns are the same ones you find using Follow-Me apps. The same ones posting photos showing their license plates numbers, home addresses (and frequently those of their friends and co-workers). People are giving away so many personal, intimate details of their lives. I’m sure it saves those who would normally spend money tracking such information down a bundle!

      Thank you for your thoughtful and well-written comment! I hope to see you back soon!

      Cheers!

      Melissa

Leave a Reply

