A Snake In The Grass…Literally

I’ve gained a stalker today. I call him Wadjet for purposes of publication; what I really call him, I probably shouldn’t publicly announce.

I was minding my own business, outside enjoying the wonderful weather we’re having today, playing with my large dog, Alex, in our back yard. It was Alex, the dog that saved my life just over a year ago, who initially pointed out the sneaky little reptile. I yelled–something really brilliant like, “Snake!”–and summoned my husband to deal with the situation.

He actually thought it was wonderful and took a few photos, before encouraging the snake to take a stroll towards the big field behind our property. The snake obliged, sort of: he stopped off at our compost pile/bird haven on the way.

I thought the little fu–I mean, snake–would have the sense to stay the hell away but, no. Of course not.

Outside with Alex again just a few minutes ago, I discovered that the little bastard was right behind me. Actually, Alex noticed the snake and let me know about it. Alex loves to “mommy” small, cuddly creatures, but he seemed inclined to regard said small snake as a threat..or as a potential chew toy.

By the time I’d convinced Alex that I’d prefer he look on the snake as a threat and got Shadow on the scene, Wadjet had disappeared once more. But I know he’s out there, just waiting for me to venture into the wilds of my backyard again.

I’ve included a photo, just so you’ll recognize Wadjet if he begins stalking you.

 

Image.

One thought on “A Snake In The Grass…Literally

  1. Hello Stranger. Always a pleasure.

Leave a Reply

